World Congress on Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering

Upcoming World Congresses:

XXVII 2025 Adelaide, Australia

We invite you to join us for the IUPESM World Congress 2025. The Congress will bring together researchers who are leading international efforts to shape the future of medical physics and biomedical engineering.

Mark your calendars for one of the largest gatherings of medical physicists and biomedical engineers in the world.

For more information, please visit


Adelaide and its population of 1.3 million are currently undergoing a huge transformation and it’s fast becoming the lifestyle capital of Australia. Already celebrated for its wine and food culture, this elegant city is undergoing a rapid transformation with a burgeoning small-bar scene to a host of world-class festivals and amazing eco-adventures. Widely recognised as the 20-minute city, Adelaide is easy to get to, easy to get around in and easy to fall in love with.


Industries in Adelaide are diverse, innovative and powerful, boasting global leaders across a number of key specialty sectors including; minerals and energy, bioscience, water, defence, aerospace, education, advanced manufacturing and agriculture. It is also the home of South Australia’s flagship independent not-for-profit health and medical research institute, the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI).


The city not only provides excellent facilities but also offers a range of unforgettable experiences. You will discover a city that is easy and safe to stroll around with plenty to see and do. When you visit Adelaide, make sure you stop to admire the heritage streetscapes, charming buildings and public art. Walk along the river and through the parklands, or just lounge on the beach or at one of the many cafes. The airport is only seven kilometres (4.3 miles) from Adelaide city and the Adelaide Hills with the Barossa Valley and major beaches a short drive away by car.

The proces of selection of IUPESM WC 2031 venue will be announced in 2024.

Past Congresses

XI 1976 Ottawa, Canada

XII 1979 Jerusalem, Israel

XIII 1982 Hamburg, Germany

XIV 1985 Helsinki, Finland

XV 1988 San Antonio, U.S.A.

XVI 1991 Kyoto, Japan

XVII 1994 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

XVIII 1997 Nice, France

XIX 2000 Chicago, U.S.A.

XX 2003 Sydney, Australia

XXI 2006 Seoul, Korea

XXII 2009 Munich, Germany

XXIII 2012 Beijing, China

XXIV 2015, Toronto, Canada

XXV 2018, Prague, Czech Republic

XXVI 2022 Singapore

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options