# International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine Minutes of a Meeting of the Administrative Council Held at ICMP in Bangkok, 4-6pm on the 11<sup>th</sup> December 2016

Present:	Prof Kin Yin Cheung (Chair) Prof James Goh Dr Howell Round Prof Madan Rehani Dr Eva Bezak	Prof Herbert Voigt Prof Slavik Tabakov Prof Kang Ping Lin Dr Virginia Tsapaki Dr Magdalena Stoeva
<b>Virtual</b> :	Prof Ratko Magjarevic;	Dr Luis Kun
Excused:	Prof Monique Frize	
Attending:	Sally Hawking	

President Kin Yin Cheung opened the meeting by welcoming everyone and noted that, due to time constraints, the meeting would need to be kept to less than two hours.

## 1. Q&A on Reports

Reports available prior to the meeting for review.

## 1.1 President's Report (Kin Yin Cheung)

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Rehani, seconded by Prof Voigt and passed

## 1.2 Treasurer's Report (Marc Nyssen)

Prof Voigt proposed that a third currency account be opened to hold funds in US Dollars to offset exchange rate risk; seconded by Prof Rehani, no objections – **approved** 

Dr. Kun noted that the IUPESM Journal previously did not have a budget for the EIC activities, and there is no IUPESM budget to support the work and travel required. Dr. Kun noted that until the 2015 World Congress he had never asked for any money since his travelling was covered by being an elected member of the IFMBE AC (2009-2015) so during these activities he also covered his duties as EIC (since the creation of the Journal in 2011). He also reported that after June 2015 there were activities that he needed to participate in as the EIC of the Journal for which he had no (pre-approved) budget.

Action: Luis Kun is asked to put a formal request to the AC for a budget.

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Voigt, seconded by Prof Lin and passed

## 1.3 IOMP President's Report (Slavik Tabakov)

Prof Voigt asked for clarification of the two new IOMP awards introduced in 2016 - these are the John Mallard award and the IDMP awards.

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Rehani, seconded by Dr Stoeva and passed

## 1.4 Secretary General's Report (Howell Round)

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Voigt, seconded by Dr Tsapaki and passed

#### 1.5 IFMBE President's Report (James Goh)

Dr Tsapaki agreed to work with the newly formed 'Euro Parliament Interest Group on Biomedical Engineering' on joint projects following her experience in this field with EFOMP.

EMBEC 2017 in Finland (June) was suggested as the next venue for the AC to meet.

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Voigt, seconded by Prof Tabakov and passed

#### 1.6 Congress Coordinating Committee Report (Kin Yin Cheung)

The CCC has agreed for the IOMP and IFMBE Science Committee Chairs to also be Co-Chairs of the WC Scientific Cmte.

Prof Tabakov agreed that abstracts could be published in MPI but for a small charge, this will be discussed further.

Prof Tabakov noted that three additional subjects are proposed to be added to the topics proposed by the COC: Clinical Engineering, Nuclear Medicine & Molecular Imaging and Global Health & Development.

Prof Tabakov noted that there is no good balance between WC topics - less are assigned to medical physics compared to biomedical engineering. This will reduce the number of medical physicist chairs of topics/tracks. This has to be addressed by CCC or WC Scientific Cmte in order to have an acceptable balance.

The contract for WC2021 is to be signed in Prague at WC2018.

The key requirements of the contract for WC2024 are to be included in the call for submissions so that NMO's are aware of the requirements – particularly concerning financial matters such as sponsorship and travel awards. The call will be made mid-2017 with deadline for returns by the year-end to allow time for revisions.

Dr Bezak noted that the keynote speakers are supposedly "nearly complete" but only two have been arranged and that more are needed. Further clarification on keynote speakers is requested.

The Congress guidelines should include the expectation that AC or CCC get to select at least one speaker.

Prof Magjarevic suggested that award winners be featured more prominently in the keynote and plenary sessions. As names won't be known until the end of 2017, spaces in the programme should be reserved for them.

Any suggestions for speakers should be forwarded to the CCC.

Action: Prof Cheung will contact the Prague organisers and arrange for the two new Science Cmte Co-Chairs (as above) to work with them to finalize details on speakers.

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Voigt, seconded by Dr Round and passed

1.7 Awards Committee Report (Ratko Magjarevic)

The role of the IUPESM Chair is to 'endorse' the nominations by IOMP and IFMBE and in order to give them more responsibility, the respective organisations are asked to put forward at least two or more people for each award rather than just one. The AC **agreed** that this was a good idea and the respective A&H Cmte Chairs are to be notified.

There is an ethical issue to consider regarding making awards to acting officers and whether or not restrictions to nominations should be applied; the Awards Cmte are asked to propose a new Bylaw to address this.

Action: Prof Magjarevic will draft new guidelines regarding nominee requirements and prepare the AC to vote on their eligibility.

Endorsement of report moved by Prof Goh, seconded by Prof Lin and passed

#### 1.8 Union Journal Committee Report (Luis Kun)

IOMP are welcomed to submit suggestions for specific issues of the journal. Endorsement of report moved by Prof Voigt, seconded by Prof Lin and passed

#### 2. Status on Website Revamp (Magdalena Stoeva)

A company has been engaged to re-design the IUPESM website and Dr Stoeva presented the three templates they have prepared for a decision to be made on which one to use. It was noted that all three options have adequate capacity and capability to meet the required functional needs.

Decision: the third template presented won by unanimous vote

### **Other Business**

- The next ICSU general meeting will be held in Taiwan, October 2017
- Dr Bezak advised she will be hosting a teleconference for the WIMPBME Conference to discuss speakers and those who could serve as Committee Chairs; minutes will be cc'd to the AC.
- Prof Lin requested that two new members be approved to join the Public and International Relations Committee: Xiaohong Weng (China) and Eric Laciar Leber (Argentina) **approved.**

The meeting closed at 17:45

Minutes taken by S Hawking