Minutes of the IUPESM General Assembly Auditorium 2, Sydney Convention & Exhibition Center Thursday, August 28th, Sydney, Australia

The voting status of delegates was confirmed by Heikki Terio, Secretary General of IFMBE with green voting authorization slips and by Gary Fullerton, Secretary General of IOMP with yellow voting authorization slips.

1. The General Assembly was opened by President Jean-Pierre Morucci The President asked for approval the agenda for the General Assembly. The agenda was accepted unanimously.

2. The President reminded the delegates that the minutes of the WC2000 Chicago were already distributed and approved via email.

3. President Morucci presented a detailed report of activities of the IUPESM over the past three years. Highlights of the report were the revision of the procedures for selection of the site for the World Congress were completed, CCC policies and procedures manual has been prepared, the site selection of the WC2009, an ad hoc committee has been formed to prepare an IUPESM policies and procedures manual and the new IUPESM logo. **Motion:** *President Morucci requested approval by acclamation of the new IUPESM logo*. The new IUPESM logo was unanimously approved. He also reported on the activities with ICSU, which was distributed, to all the delegates via email. One major accomplishment of relationship with ICSU was receipt of a grant, which allowed for publication of the IUPESM brochure. President Morucci invited all delegates to obtain copies of the brochure available at the meeting and exhibit booth. His full report is attached which will also be posted on the IUPESM website. President Keith Boddy and Secretary General/Treasurer Gary Fullerton, and presented a plaque expressing the gratitude

of IUPESM for their distinguished service.

4. President Morucci presented the nominations for the At Large Council Members and the candidates were allowed to give a brief 2-minute presentation on behalf of their candidacy. President Morucci explained the procedure for election of officers, which occurs within the IFMBE and IOMP and is automatic within the IUPESM. Colin Orton was nominated by the Nominating Committee and up for election as President since Prof. Chomicki was not available to accept the position. The Assembly elects the members-at-large from the nominees presented by the nominations process. The slate of officers and nominees for the positions at large were presented.

Medical Physics Council Member at Large (Vote for two only). Inger-Lena Lamm (Sweden) Kwan-Hoong Ng (Malaysia) Bioengineering Council Member at Large (Vote for two only). Joe Barbenel (United Kingdom) Marc Nyssen (Belgium) Nandor Richter (Hungary)

5. Secretary General/Treasurer Gary Fullerton presented an interim financial report indicating that the IUPESM should finish the year 2003 with an estimated balance of \$30,000 USD. There

was a discussion of the interim report and it was agreed that the final report including the audit will be submitted in March 2004 and posted on the IUPESM website for review by delegates. The IUPESM Administrative Council will be obtaining a nomination for the IUPESM Secretary General/Treasurer position from the IFMBE and hope to have the new SG elected by mid October. Until that time, Gary Fullerton has offered to keep the Secretariat office in San Antonio, Texas. Once the new SG is elected, transfer of IUPESM Secretariat location will take place at the end of the calendar year. **Motion:** *Approve acceptance of the Secretary General's report for the year 2003. Approved.*

6. The Chairman of the Congress Coordinating Committee, Dov Jaron, reported briefly on progress with the 2003, 2006 and 2009 World Congresses for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering. The negotiations for the 2006 Congress in Seoul are complete and a contract has been signed. There were originally 2 bids for the 2009 WC, however due to the withdrawal of 1 bid, the balloting to approve the 2009 bid was undertaken at the IOMP Council & IFMBE General Assembly. Both organizations unanimously endorsed the selection of Munich, Germany as the site of the WC2009. **Motion:** *Gary Fullerton moved to approve acceptance of the report of CCC and of the selection of the site for WC2009, Dov Jaron seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously.*

7. The Chairman of the Regional Development Committee presented his report of activities over the last 3 years. His full report is attached. **Motion:** *Approve acceptance of the report. Approved.*

8. The Chairman of the Awards Committee, Joachim Nagel, reported the election of Professors Colin Orton and Robert Nerem as the year 2003 recipients of the IUPESM Awards of Merit. **Motion:** *The recommendations of the Awards Committee were approved by acclamation.*

9. President Morucci then introduced the new President of IUPESM, Professor Colin Orton who accepted the gavel of authority. As his first act of office he asked the Assembly to give thanks to the Past-President, Jean Pierre Morucci, and they did so by acclamation. He then briefly presented his 3 year strategic plan for IUPESM and the main points are as follows:

- Work with ICSU Liaison Committee to enhance use of membership with ICSU to benefit IOMP, IFMBE and IUPESM.
- Enhance committee activities; ways for committees to interact productively with IOMP and IFMBE counterparts
- Create policies and procedures for all committees
- Enhance Public Awareness of IUPESM to IFMBE and IOMP members, other international bodies (UNESCO, etc.), national bodies and develop website
- Explore expansion of memberships to other international organizations, national members, affiliates and corporate members
- Enhance funding to better achieve IUPESM goals: assist Developing Countries and establish educational activities
- Develop strategic plan to guide IUPESM through the next decade

10. President Orton then introduced the new IUPESM Administrative Council Members who were elected by secret ballot and presented as follows:

Officers of the Council

President Colin Orton

Vice President Doy Jaron Past President Jean Pierre Morucci Secretary General TBS Treasurer TBS Ordinary Members of the Council IFMBE President Joachim Nagel IOMP President Azam Niroomand-Rad IFMBE Vice-President Makoto Kikuchi IOMP Vice-President Barry Allen IFMBE Secretary-General Ratko Magjarevic IOMP Secretary-General Peter Smith **Ordinary Members - at-Large** Inger-Lena Lamm (IOMP) Kwan-Hoong Ng (IOMP) Joe Barbenel (IFMBE) Nandor Richter (IFMBE)

11. IOMP President Azam Niroomand-Rad gave a brief presentation on her views of the future of IOMP and IUPESM. IFMBE President Joachim Nagel also gave a brief presentation of his views of the future of IFMBE and IUPESM as well as a brief introduction to the structure and members of IFMBE.

12. President Orton asked for any new or old business and a motion was made to close this meeting of the IUPESM General Assembly and the meeting was adjourned.

13. President Orton asked for a motion to adjourn. Dov Jaron moved to adjourn and Gary Fullerton seconded. Meeting adjourned at 4pm.

Respectfully submitted, Gary D. Fullerton, Secretary General IUPESM San Antonio, Texas, USA