Minutes of the IUPESM General Assembly Wednesday, Sept 17th 1997, Nice - France

The General Assembly is opened by President Niilo Saranummi

- 1. Keith Boddy moves a motion, seconded by Spyros Spyrou, to approve the **Minutes** of the General Assembly of Rio de Janeiro 1994. Motion was carried unanimously.
- 2. Keith Boddy shows some overheads in which the expected changes in **ICSU** are elucidated and how the IUPESM could respond to that.
- 3. Udipi Madvanath clarifies his report of the IUPESM Awards of Merit Committee. Prof. Plonsey and Prof. Laughlin were nominated as awardees. Colin Orton moves a motion, seconded by Dov Jaron to accept the nominations. Motion was carried unanimously.
- 4. Fumihiko Kajiya moves a motion, seconded by Charles Robinson to accept the activities and finances report by the IUPESM Secretary General. The motion was carried unanimously.
- 5. Oskar Chomicki elucidates the report from the **Developing Countries Committee**. He underlines the regular contacts between him and Helmut Hutten of IFMBE. In total there are 600 copies of the developing countries magazine distributed. Helmut Hutten reports that related to his work performed in Graz the developing countries and countries in transition were sent some questionnaires. Only a few responses came from biomedical engineering societies and from countries in transition. Marcello Bracale highlights the importance of the Developing Countries Committee and emphasizes the need of financial support for these activities. Mladen Poluta announces that he will try to establish a new Working Group of Developing Countries in the framework of the IFMBE, sideways from the Countries in Transition in Europe. A motion is moved by Bob Nerem and seconded by Mladen Poluta to approve the report. Motion was carried unanimously.
- 6. Bob Nerem, chairman of the Nominating Committee, presents the results of the

Administrative Council elections.

Officers

President Keith Boddy

Vice president Fumihiko Kajiya

Past president Niilo Saranummi

Secretary General Gary Fullerton

Treasurer Gary Fullerton

Ordinary Members of Council

Jean Pierre Morucci (president IFMBE)

Colin Orton (president IOMP)

Dov Jaron (vice president IFMBE)

Oskar Chomicki (vice president IOMP)

Heikki Terio (secretary general IFMBE)

Ordinary Members at Large

Michael A. Smith (IOMP)

Barry J. Allen (IOMP)

Peter Rolfe (IFMBE)

Shmuel Einav (IFMBE)

- 7. Colin Orton presents the results from the Congress Coordination Committee of the election on the site for the World Congress 2003. Initially there were 6 Letters of Intend. The votes in the General Assemblies of IFMBE and IOMP were combined and **Sydney, Australia** was elected as the site for the World Congress of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering in **2003**. Dov Jaron moves a motion, seconded by Nandor Richter, to accept the results of the CCC. Motion was carried unanimously.
- 8. President Niilo Saranummi past on the presidency to Keith Boddy and the General Assembly was adjourned.

Jos AE Spaan IUPESM Secretary General Amsterdam, The Netherlands