

# International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine

International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine Minutes of Meeting No 2 of the Administrative Council Held at the World Congress in Munich 11<sup>th</sup> September 2009

- Present: Prof Barry Allen Dr Kin Yin Cheung Dr Fernando Infantosi Prof Makoto Kikuchi Prof S. M. Krishnan Prof Ratko Magjarevic Prof Joachim Nagel Prof Fridtjof Nüsslin Dr Peter H. S. Smith Dr Slavik Tabakov Dr Heikki Terio Prof Herb F Voigt
- Apologies: Dr James Goh and Dr Madan Rehani

In Attendance: Mr Ian Wolstencroft

#### 1. Welcome by the President

Prof Allen expressed his appreciation for the work done by the previous Administrative Council and looked forward to productive meetings and achievements over the coming three years.

# 2. Minutes of Meeting on 8<sup>th</sup> September 2009

Ian Wolstencroft reported that due to time pressures at the World Congress the Minutes of Meeting 1 had yet to be prepared, they will be circulated once completed.

#### 3 Review of the World Congress Bidding Procedure

It was **agreed** that the bidding procedure for the 2018 World Congress requires improving and that a review group should be created under the auspices of the Congress Coordinating Committee. It was agreed that this review should include the proposal of defining three time zones to alternate potential areas.

It was **agreed** that Dr Mario Secca be asked to undertake the review, Prof Voigt agreed to contact him. **Action HFV** 

## 4. Visa Problems for Attendees at Scientific meetings

The problem of scientists being prevented from attending scientific meetings due to Visa problems was discussed. It was **agreed** that a register of Visa rejections be maintained and that IFMBE and IOMP be asked to maintain similar registers. **Action HT** 

It was also **agreed** that Prof Nüsslin will contact Prof Jaron for him to take up the issue with ICSU. Action FN

## 5. Congress Coordination Committee

## 2009

It was noted that the 2009 contract requires the organisers to pay 25,000USD to both IFMBE and IOMP at the end of the conference. It was **agreed** that the IUPESM Treasurer will contact Dr Becks to arrange transfers. **Action ST** 

## 2012 Beijing

Prof Allen reported that the contract for 2012 had been signed the previous evening, and that the financial conditions had been relaxed regarding payments to the scientific organisations if the event fails to make a surplus. Prof Allen, as Chair of CCC, will meet the organisers every six months to ensure effective communications.

## 2015

A review of the ballot for 2015 was undertaken, and it was **agreed** that a summary of the results should be included in a letter to all bidders. **Action HT** 

#### Membership of the CCC was agreed as:

Prof Allen, Chair, Dr Kin-Yin Cheung, DR Madan Rehani, Dr James Goh, Prof Ratko Magjarevic, Dr Heikki Terio and Dr Mario Secca

#### 6. Nominations Committee

It was **agreed** that the Secretary General write a letter of thanks to Prof Colin Orton for his services to IUPESM. Action HT

Prof Joachim Nagel was confirmed as Chair of the committee and all other existing members were appointed for a further term.

#### 7. Awards Committee

The members appointed to the awards Committee are:

Prof Makoto Kikuchi, Chair, Prof Herb Voigt, Prof Ratko Magjarevic, Dr Slavik Tabakov and Prof Don Frey.

#### 8. ICSU Liaison Group

The members appointed to this group are:

Prof Fridtjof Nüsslin, Prof Don Jaron and Dr William Rae.

## 9. Education and training Committee

The members appointed to the committee are:

Dr Salvik Tabakov, Chair, DR S J Calil, Dr S I Kim, Dr Anchali Krisanachinda and Dr Mario Secca 10. Regional Development Committee

After discussion it was **agreed** that this committee should not continue.

## 11. Public Relations Committee

This committee was also discontinued.

## 12. HTTG

It was **agreed** to simplify the name of this group to the Health Technology Training Group.

It was also **agreed** that the existing steering committee be terminated and a new task group formed comprising Prof Allen, Prof Nagel, Dr Cheung and Dr Terio to review the draft Terms of Reference by the end of November 2009. It was also proposed that Dr Issakov should join the group at a later stage, followed by further nominations from IFMBE and IOMP.

# 13. Any Other Business

## 13.1 Bank Arrangements

It was **agreed** that the incoming Treasurer, Dr Slavik Tabakov, be added to the list of approved bank signatories, and that for administrative convenience Dr Peter Smith, the retiring Treasurer, should remain as an approved signatory. **Action IW** 

#### 13.2 Financing ICSU Expenses

It was **agreed** that normally IUPESM will fund additional expenses for Prof Jaron incurred in attending ICSU Executive Board meetings, however a sub group consisting of the Treasurer, President and Vice President will review the position on each occasion on behalf of the Administrative Council.

The meeting closed at 10.00.

IW 12.11.09