

International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine

Minutes

Meeting of IUPESM Administrative Council #2 Seoul, Korea September 1, 2006

Members Present: Joachim Nagel, Colin Orton, Peter Smith, Heikki Terio, Barry Allen, Makoto Kikuchi, Herbert Voigt, Fridtjof Nüsslin, Ratko Magjarevic, Caridad Borrás, Fernando Infantosi

Members Absent with Notice: Azam Niroomand-Rad, Joe Barbenel, Alun Beddoe

1. Welcome by Prof. Joachim Nagel

President Nagel opened the meeting and welcomed all new and old AC members. The agenda was gone through and Joachim Nagel proposed that discussion of the IUPESM logo would be added to the agenda as item 4.

Herbert Voigt moved to approve the Agenda with the addition. Makoto Kikuchi seconded. The agenda was approved unanimously.

2. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes were not prepared yet and they will be accepted later.

3. Proposal to form a joint Task Group IOMP/IFMBE

Joachim Nagel briefed the background of the proposal that was handed out to the AC members. He also added that Dr. Andrei Issakov, of WHO would very much like to become involved in this effort. Joachim Nagel said that we could form immediately a group with Barry Allen, Heikki Terio, Andrei Issakov and himself to work with the issue. Peter Smith was proposed to be included in this group for time being in order to get information. The group should also involve people from developing countries who could provide the group with relevant feedback. Fernando Infantosi said that the group need also people from the education and training committee and that he would be happy to be involved.

Peter Smith proposed to drop the "appropriate" from the name and use only "technology" since "appropriate" could create certain antibodies. Fernando Infantosi agreed to this statement. Barry Allen felt that "appropriate" is the key word in the name and he did not consider it as a political issue. Peter Smith proposed that we should use the title "Health Technology and Training in Developing Countries" and explain in the Terms of Reference what we mean. Barry Allen agreed on the title's new formulation. Ratko Magjarevic pointed out that IAEA should be involved in this work too. IOMP representatives will take care of the contacts with IAEA. Barry Allen was proposed to be the Chairman for the group. The first task for the group should be to form a kernel that should be active in November 2006. This kernel should develop the full-scale group that is functional in April 2007. At the same time

the kernel should draft a budget, seek possibilities for external funding, develop policies and identify the needs.

Peter Smith moved to approve the proposal. Fernando Infantosi seconded. The proposal was approved unanimously.

4. Discussion about the IUPESM logo

Congress Coordinating committee accepted the use of the old logo during the WC2006. The reason for this was that some details in the new logo become blurred when used in electronic publications.

Joachim Nagel moved to use the old logo in electronic publications where good resolution is needed. Barry Allen seconded. The proposal was approved unanimously.

5. Proposal for the membership of the IUPESM standing committees Congress Coordinating Committee

Barry Allen will continue as the Chair of the CCC. Other members of the committee are Peter Smith, Ratko Magjarevic, Heikki Terio and Joachim Nagel. Dov Jaron will be asked to join the committee. Peter Smith and Ratko Magjarevic will work directly with the Congress Organizing Committee of WC2009. Fridtjof Nüsslin is the chair of the Scientific Committee of WC2009 and informs the AC.

Nominating Committee

Chair Colin Orton, the members are Joachim Nagel, Azam Niroomand-Rad, Makoto Kikuchi, Kin-yin Cheung, Herbert Voigt, Slavik Tabakov and Ratko Magjarevic.

Awards Committee

Chair Azam Niroomand-Rad, the members are Slavik Tabakov, Makoto Kikuchi, and Herbert Voigt. IOMP will come back with the name of their last representative.

ICSU Liaison Committee

Chair Dov Jaron; the members are Fernando Infantosi, Kwan-Hoong Ng, William Rae, Peter Smith and Joachim Nagel. Peter Smith and Joachim Nagel will represent in Europe.

Education and Training Committee

Chair Slavik Tabakov, Anchali Krisanachinda. Peter Smith proposed that the committee should be kept small and it should have a task to co-ordinate different activities.

Regional Developing Committee

Chair Stelios Christofides; members are Makoto Kikuchi, Fernando Infantosi, Agnette Peralta, Herbert Voigt, William Rae

Public and International Relations Committee

The Chair and members will be appointed later.

Barry Allen moved to approve the proposed committee structure. Herbert Voigt seconded. The proposal was approved unanimously.

6. New/Old business

- IUPESM application for NGO status within WHO and UN. Motion: Start the process to apply for NGO status within WHO and UN

Proposed by: J.Nagel Seconded by: C.Orton

- How to increase income?

Motion: To establish a small ad hoc committee of the Executive Committee to investigate the need for increasing income and, if appropriate, to propose ways this might be achieved (to report back to the EC within six months, in time for a full discussion at the Seoul Council meetings).

Proposed by: C.Orton Seconded by: D.Jaron

Discussions over the listed old businesses were postponed to a later date.

Herbert Voigt moved to adjourn the meeting. Joachim Nagel seconded. The proposal was approved unanimously.

Minutes prepared by Heikki Terio Secretary-General IUPESM