Meeting of IUPESM Administrative Council #2 (Draft)

Palmer House Hotel

7-9 am, Parlor F

Chicago, Illinois July 28, 2000

Members Present: Jean-Pierre Morucci (Chairman), Keith Boddy, Kwan Ng, Joachim Nagel, Dov Jaron, Helmut Hutten, Tokeyoshi Dohi, Colin Orton, Heiki Terio, Gary Fullerton, Azam Niroomand-Rad, Inger-Lena Lamm

Members Absent: Oskar Chomicki

Staff: Cynthia Sanchez, Executive Secretary IOMP & IUPESM

Guests: Barry J. Allen, Fumihiko Kajiya

1.Welcome

President Morucci welcomed the new members of the Administrative Council and discussed the proposed agenda for the meeting.

2. Minutes of previous meeting

Motion: That the minutes of the July 22 meeting of the Administrative Council are approved as distributed. The motion was approved unanimously.

3. President's Report.

President Morucci reviewed proposals for the membership of the standing committees of IUPESM. The committees' membership proposed is as follows:

Congress Coordinating Committee (Dov Jaron – Chair, Colin Orton, Gary Fullerton, Tokeyoshi Dohi and Didier)

Nominating Committee (Keith Boddy – Chair, Jean-Pierre Morucci, Banu, Infantesi, Jack Cunnignham)

Awards Committee (Colin Orton – Chair, Zbin Yang, Fridtjof Nuesslin, Joachim Nagel)

ICSU Liaison Committee (Jean-Pierre Morucci – Chair, Keith Boddy, Niilo Saranumi, Fumihiko Kajiya)

Education and Training Committee (Colin Orton – Chair, Helmut Hutten, Oskar Chomicki, Azam Niroomand-Rad, Okashi, Pieter Inea)

Regional Development Committee: (Helmut Hutten – Chair, Slavik Tabakov, Cari Borras, Medan Rehani)

Public and International Relations Committee: (Fumihiko Kajiya- Chair, Takeyoshi Dohi, Keith Boddy, Pedro Andreo, Inger-Lena Lamm)

Motion: That the selection of the Chairmen is approved and the selection of Committee members will be confirmed later following interaction between the Chairmen and the President. Approved.

The President then reported an appeal submitted by the Korean Delegation, which is included below:

An Appeal Based on Error in Procedures for Site Selection for World Congress, 2006

Dear Chairman of the IUPESM,

Based on the IUPESM CCC Procedures for the World Congress Site Selection, we (KOSOMBE, KAMP) officially appeal to the errors of the site selection procedures for WC2006.

We found there are two errors in procedures as follows,

1. <u>Based on item 5</u>, "The host countries shall return the application forms with their written submissions to the CCC at least 6 months before the Congress."

We submitted the application forms in time upon the CCC request. We were informed that Switzerland did not submit the proposal within the requested time. However, Switzerland was allowed as a candidate for the WC2006 site.

2. <u>According to item 8</u>, "selection should be done by each voting delegate voting for one host country only."

On the voting ballot, Switzerland appeared with Germany and UK on the same line, while the other three countries name in single. That's why the delegates could not help making votes for three countries at a time instead of one host country only.

These two errors in prodedures are obviously violate the CCC site selection bylaw. Thus, we officially request to reconsider this matter as an agenda of IUPESM Administrative Council Meeting.

Chairman, Preparatory Committee

WC2006 Seoul, Korea

The Chairman of the CCC was asked to verify the facts and noted the following:

a. The schedule was designed to serve as a rough guide and the deadlines were extended in 2000 to reflect uncertainty in the continuance of the combined meeting on the part of IOMP and the recognition

that communication is much more rapid when done by e-mail (so much lead time is not required).

b. The request for an extension came from Israel not from Switzerland and all applicants were informed of the extension.

c. All communications between the CCC and applicants included copies to everyone to eliminate the potential of an advantage to any specific applicant.

d. All applicants were encouraged to work together on a regional basis.

e. No complaint concerning procedure was registered prior to the balloting.

G. Fullerton recommended that the appeal was invalid, as the extensions were not done in a fashion to give an advantage or disadvantage to any applicant. He also noted that the IUPESM Council had already accepted the decision at the Assembly meeting and that a change at this late date would jeopardize relations with national members.

Following extensive discussion the following motion was proposed:

Motion: Changes in the CCC operational procedures were not based on the Swiss application and the modification did not affect the outcome. Proposed by Colin Orton and seconded by Gary Fullerton. Motion failed.

Motion: Committee guidelines are operational procedures that allow flexibility provided no constituent elements are placed at an advantage or disadvantage. Proposed by Barry Allen and seconded by Dov Jaron. Motion passed with abstention by Joachim Nagel

Motion: That the Administrative Council accept the Korean appeal. Proposed y Dov Jaron and seconded by Azam Niroomand-Rad. Passed (9 yes, 2 no, 1 abstain)

Motion: That the voting process will be repeated by mail after applicants have been given the opportunity to submit a short summary of any additional information. Passed.

In the following discussion it was agreed that President Morucci would write a letter to be distributed to members of both the IOMP and IFMBE to explain the decision. Dov Jaron , Chairman of the new CCC, would design a process for conducting the balloting within the one year time frame allowed by the rules. The consensus was that the procedure should be completed as soon as possible. Colin Orton was asked to inform the Swiss, German and UK representatives who were waiting to sign the letter of intent for

2006.

There being no new or old business the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Gary D. Fullerton, Ph.D.

Secretary General IUPESM