Minutes

Meeting of IUPESM Administrative Council #1

Palmer House Hotel

Chicago, Illinois

July 22, 2000

Members Present: Keith Boddy, Barry J. Allen, , Dov Jaron, Fumihiko Kajiya, Jean-Pierre Morucci, Colin Orton, Niilo Saranummi, Gary Fullerton

Members Absent: Oskar Chomicki, Shmuel Einav, Peter Rolfe, Michael A. Smith, Heikki Terio

Staff: Cynthia Sanchez, Executive Secretary IOMP & IUPESM

1.Welcome

President Boddy welcomed members of the Administrative Council to Chicago and briefly discussed some of the logistical problems of the Chicago 2000 meeting.

2. Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the last Virtual Meeting of the Council were approved as posted on the web page.

3. President's Report.

President Boddy reviewed progress on the IUPESM action plan since the last live meeting of the Council in Nice in 1997. He noted that most of the plan was achieved with the acceptance of IUPESM as a full member of ICSU. The use of "virtual meetings" was a useful concept in maintaining concerted Council participation between the triennial World Congress meeting and was encouraged as a tool for the next Council. The proposed report of the President to the General Assembly on Thursday was discussed.

4. Report of Secretary General / Treasurer

Secretary-General Fullerton reviewed the highlight of IUPESM Secretariat operation over the past three years. He noted the importance of conversion to an electronic

communications oriented Secretariat and the upgrading of the IUPESM home page. The home page is housed on a high-speed server at the American Center for Physics in Washington DC. This was implemented by the AAPM Webmaster, Michael Woodward, but is presently maintained from the SG's office in San Antonio. AAPM is currently reviewing this commitment but it is hoped that the home page can remain in the same location for the next three years.

5. Report of Committees:

- a. Congress Coordinating Committee
 - ii. WC2000: The Chairman of the CCC, G. Fullerton, reported that registration is on track with more than 4700 registrants at present and significantly more expected over the next few days. He noted the potential lack of profit due to poor room pickup in some of the contracted hotels, especially the Palmer House. Several members of the Council reported that members are being told that the hotel is sold out and the Organizing Committee should be informed. The SG agreed to do this.
 - ii. WC2003 and MOU issues: The issue of the MOU between the Australian hosts and EMBS was discussed. The MOU was rewritten with the assistance of the President of the Australian meeting, BarryAllen, to provide an option for EMBS participation that would be acceptable to the IUPESM. This final option is attached to these minutes for clarity of purpose and intent although it is not an official IUPESM document.
 - iii. WC2006: The Chairman reported that six letters of intent (Germany, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Korea, United Kingdom and Israel) had resulted in four applications approved as adequate by the CCC. Presentations will be given for delegates on Tuesday by 1. European Consortium (Switzerland, Germany and UK), 2. Asian Consoritum (Hong Kong and China), 3. Korea and 4. Israel. Members of the Council were asked to assure that as many delegates as possible from IOMP and IFMBE are present at those presentations.

b. Nominating Committee

The Committee Chairman, Niilo Saranumi, reported that the committee confirmed that the officers for 2000-2003 will be President, JP Morucci (Past-President IFMBE), Vice-President, Colin Orton (Past-President IOMP), Past-President, Keith Boddy and Secretary General, Gary Fullerton (2nd term). The ordinary members of the Council for this period are Dov Jaron (IFMBE President), Oskar Chomicki (IOMP President), TBS (IFMBE Vice-President), TBS (IOMP Vice-President) and Heiki Terrio (Secretary General IFMBE). The candidates for the Members-at-large are:

Candidates put forward by IFMBE:

Dan Adam, Israel Takeyoshi Dohi, Japan Joachim Nagel, Germany

Zibin Yang, China

Candidates put forward by IOMP:

Inger-Lena Lamm, Sweden Kwan-Hoong Ng, Malaysia Andries van Aswegen, South Africa Fridtjof Nuesslin, Germany

c. Awards Committee

The Awards Committee Chairman, D. Jaron, reported that Masao Saito was selected to receive the IUPESM Engineering Merit Award and that Keith Boddy was selected to receive the IUPESM Medical Physics Merit Award.

6. Progress on membership of ICSU

President Boddy reported on the continuing work to implement an effective membership in ICSU. A consensus workshop at this meeting has confirmed the general directions that were established in Nice.

7. Progress on Key Programmes:

Progress in key areas was discussed but more will be reported following completion of the Consensus workshop work later this week.

- a. Public Understanding of Science
- b. Education, Training and Continued Professional Development
- c. Global Biomedical Information Networking
- d. Evidence Based Health Technology
- e. Medical Equipment Evaluation

8. Future and model of IUPESM

It was generally agreed that the 3rd Model, which is largely a continuation of the present structure of cooperation between IOMP and IFMBE, is the preferred model. It was agreed, however, that implementation of a new committee structure will be necessary and President Boddy has proposed such a structure that will be discussed at the Assembly meeting on Thursday.

9. Proposed changes in Bylaws

Proposed changes in the Bylaws were discussed but no deciding vote was taken.

- 10. Review of agenda for General Assembly
- 11. There being no new or old business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Gary D. Fullerton, Secretary-General IUPESM