Minutes Meeting of IUPESM Administrative Council #3 Novotel Darling Harbour, Boardroom 1 Sydney, Australia August 29, 2003

Members Present Jean-Pierre Morucci, Dov Jaron, Joachim Nagel, Colin Orton, Azam Niroomand-Rad, Nandor Richter, Kwan Hoong-Ng, Helmut Hutten, Gary Fullerton, Ratko Mgjarevic, Peter Smith, Barry Allen, Makoto Kikuchi

Members Absent: Joe Barbenel and Inger-Lena Lamm Staff: Terri O'Neill-Martin, Executive Secretary IOMP & IUPESM

1.Welcome

President Orton welcomed new members of Administrative Council to IUPESM and called the meeting to order. He asked to get started right away on membership of committees.

2. Nominating Committee

Jean Pierre Morucci will chair the Nominating Committee and Nandor Richter as Vice Chair. Jean-Pierre asked to have 6 people on this committee, 3 from IOMP and 3 from IFMBE. The members are: Joachim Nagel, Didier Geiger, Ratko Magjarevic, Keith Boddy, Azam Niroomand-Rad and Colin Orton. The first task of this committee is to obtain a nominee from IFMBE for the IUPESM Secretary General. *Motion: Approve membership of Nominating Committee. 1 abstention, Approved.*

3. Congress Coordinating Committee

Barry Allen will chair the Congress Coordinating Committee. The members are: Dov Jaron, George Mawko, Peter Smith, Ratko Magjarevic and IUPESM Secretary General (TBS). This committee will also work on guidelines for local organizers of future World Congresses.

4. Awards Committee

Dov Jaron will chair the Awards Committee. The members are: Perry Sprawls, Makoto Kikuchi, and Fridtjof Nusslin. President Orton asked that the committee work on guidelines for this committee. The Awards Committee will also work with the CCC on guidelines for the Awards Ceremony at future World Congresses.

5. ICSU Liaison Committee

Dov Jaron will chair the ICSU Liaison Committee. The following individuals were recommended as members: Marc Nyssen, Nandor Richter, Keith Boddy, Slavik Tabakov, Caridad Borras, Didier Geiger, Ken Shortt, Willi Kalender, Madan Rehani, Kwan Hoong-Ng, and IFMBE ETC chair. This committee will be finalized by Dov in the next few weeks.

6. Education and Training Commitee

Kwan Hoong-Ng will chair the Education and Training Committee. The members of this committee will be the IOMP ETC Chair, Slavik Tabakov and IFMBE ETC Chair

(TBS). This committee will write up guidelines for the committee and should assist with the annual report to ICSU.

7. Regional Development Committee

Makoto Kikuchi will chair the Regional Development Committee. The following individuals were recommended as members: Jean Pierre Morucci, Stelios Christofides, Marc Nyssen, Kwan Hoong-Ng and Alberto de Guerro. Makoto will finalize this committee in the next few weeks. This committee will write up guidelines.

8. Public Awareness Committee

Nandor Richter will chair the Public Awareness Committee. The members are: Gary Fullerton, Peter Smith, Ratko Magjarevic, IUPESM SG (TBS) and Jean Pierre Morucci.

9. Science Committee

President Orton will confirm whether Brian Thomas will chair this committee. If so, the members will be: Caridad Borras and IFMBE Science Committee Chair.

10. Constitution and Bylaws Committee

Joe Barbenel will chair the Constitution and Bylaws Committee. The members of the committee will be finalized in the next few weeks.

11. Ad hoc Committee on Policies and Procedures

Azam Niroomand-Rad will chair the Ad hoc committee on Policies and Procedures. The members are: Peter Smith, Ratko Magjarevic and IUPESM SG (TBS). This committee is only in charge of the policies and procedures committee for IUPESM. The individual committees will be responsible for their own policies and procedures.

12. Ad hoc Committee on Strategic Plan

President Orton will chair the Ad hoc committee on Strategic Plan. The members are: Nandor Richter and Keith Boddy. The committee will come up a plan proposal within 6 months.

13. There being no additional new or old business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Gary D. Fullerton, Secretary-General IUPESM